You could never change me

It was all like a sunrise –
you were a sun so bright
it enlightened my cloudy soul.
But you could never change
the raindrops I was made of.

You could never change them.
Or at least that’s what you said.

It was all like a campfire –
you were a fire so strong
you were eating my woody soul.
But you could never change
the crappy wood I was made of.

You could never change it.
Or at least that’s what you said.

It was all like a bliss –
one minute you were here,
then I blink and you are gone.
But you could never change
the fact that I would burn for  you.

You could never change me.
Or at least that’s what you said.

But, honey, I was ready to change.
I was ready to change for you.

2 thoughts on “You could never change me

Leave a Reply

