Not “Her”

I was something new,
just like a new cocktail
you wanted to taste.
You liked it and still not enough…
not as much as the good old
glass of whiskey you used to have.

I was something different,
just like a new jacket
that would keep you warm.
It was good for you,
but you never liked it as much as
that good old sweatshirt you loved.

I was something for you,
something and still nothing.
I just wanted to make you happy,
but I could never do that,
because you wanted Her…
Her and never Me…

But the only thing I could never be
is “Her” for you…
No matter that you would always be
“Her” for me…

2 thoughts on “Not “Her”

Leave a Reply

